Directive Notice No. 3: Excluded Moneylenders

The Reserve Bank is hereby issuing Directive No. 3 that supersedes Directive No. 2 issued on the 22nd November 2021 that the following entities are exempted from the Moneylenders Act:

  1. Any Body corporate, incorporated or empowered by an Act to lend in accordance with that Act;
  2. Banks licensed under the Banking Act;
  3. Microfinance Institutions licensed under the Microfinance Institutions Act;
  4. Retirement Funds;
  5. Credit Unions;
  6. Cooperative Societies;
  7. Credit Institutions; and
  8. International Financial Institutions and development partners (e.g. Asian Development Bank, World Bank, International Financial Corporation, Japan International Corporation Association, International Monetary Fund, European Union etc.)
  9. Any person who –
    • lends money solely to employees as a benefit of employment;
    • lends money solely to -
      1. corporations;
      2. limited liability partnerships;
      3. trustees for the purposes of business trusts;
  10. Non-Profit Organisations that lend to their members only (e.g. Churches, Charity Organisations, Alumni Associations etc.)
  11. Other entities as established by the Reserve Bank through directives.


Financial System Department
National Reserve Bank of Tonga
Fasi mo e Afi

Telephone: (676) 24057
Fax: (676) 24201

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Press Release in English
pdfIcon Download a copy of the full press release.
You are here: Home News 2022 Press Releases Directive Notice No. 3: Excluded Moneylenders